DJ 33 1/3

DJ 33 1/3

Want to know more about DJ 33 1/3? Get his official bio, social pages and articles right here!Full Bio


The Root Announces Their Most Influential Black Americans

The Root, announced the winners of its 11th-annual Root 100 List.

The list celebrates members of the Black community aged 25-45, who are changing the world by breaking down barriers and paving the way for the next generation.

On the list is Nikole Hannah-Jones, a 2020 Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and creator of the landmark 1619 Project, former NFL player turned activist, Colin Kaepernick, journalist and trans rights activist Raquel Willis, and physician and congressional candidate Dr. Cameron Webb.

The 2020 list of honorees focuses on Black resilience and resistance.

The Root's editorial team, utilizes a unique algorithm to select the winners, using comprehensive and proprietary methodology, which includes the following:

Reach: the audience they touch across digital platforms and social media, and

Substance: the overall impact of their work on their community, culture and society, graded on a scale from 0-10.

Winners were then hand-selected from the finalists pool by a seasoned selection committee.

"We're thrilled to announce this year's Root 100 winners, a collection of the world's most influential African Americans," says Danielle Belton, Editor-in-Chief at The Root. "This year is more important than ever to highlight those making strides to stand up against social injustices, no matter how large or small. The honorees are standouts in resilience and activism, making a difference in their communities, our culture or American society in a positive way, and ultimately creating a pathway for change in the Black community."

The full 2020 winners list for The Root 100:

Arts: Kehinde Wiley, Kimerly Drew, Caroline Williams, Joan Smalls, Hebru Brantley, Kiley Reid, Naomi Beckwith, Ashley James, Dario Calmese, J'nai Bridges, Dana Scruggs, Sarah M. Broom, Beatrice Dixon;

Business: Joshua Green, Sam Adetunji, Kezia Williams;

Community: Colin Kaepernick, Ibram X Kendi, Raquel Willis, Alicia Garza, Brandon Fleming, Diamond Stylz, Remoshay Nelson, Brittney Cooper, Mariah Moore, Ajon Crump, Muffy Mendoza, Jessamyn Stanley, Devin Michael Lowe, Sasha Alexander, Aisha Nyandoro, Madeline Swegle, Carter Brown, Derecka Purnell, Reva McPollom, Kimberly Jones, Phillip Atiba Goff, Patrisse Cullors, Arabia Mollette, Arisha Hatch, Phillip McHarris, Foluso Fakorede, Kyndra Frazier, Nicolette Louissaint;

Entertainment: Sarah Cooper, Jasmyn Lawson, Misha Green, L.L. McKinney, Angelica Ross, Kendrick Sampson, Issa Rae, Jeremy Pope, George M. Johnson, Tre'vell Anderson, Yahya Abdul Mateen II, Bozoma Saint John, Heather Lowery, Beyonce Knowles-Carter, Jermaine 'FunnyMaine' Johnson, Domo Wells, Kirk A. Moore;

Media: Nikole Hannah-Jones, Yamiche Alcindor, Chiney Oguwumike, Tiffany Cross, Zerlina Maxwell, Lindsay Peoples Wagner, Erica Lovett, Trymaine Lee, David Dennis;

Politics: Cori Bush, Jamaal Bowman, Symone Sanders, Angela Peoples, Cameron Webb, Ritchie Torres, Mondaire Jones, Garlin Gilchrist, Jamie Harrison;

Science and Technology: Yasicha Robinson, God-Is Rivera, Lauren Maillian, Kameelah Phillips;

Sports: Maya Moore, Bubba Wallace, Nneka Ogwumike, Chris Paul, Kyrie Irving, LeBron James, Jason Wright, Brittney Griner, Renee Montgomery, Nicole LaPointe Jameson, Andrew Berry, Ashleigh Johnson;

STEM: Rob Gore, Moogega Stricker, Janina Jeff, Annette Grotheer, Kenneth Harris II.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content